top of page

Blog 2/20:đŸ‘»My Haunted Escape Room ExperienceđŸ‘»

Just to start, I bawled my eyes out. My friends and I have been planning to go to a haunted house of some sort months prior. One day, one of my friends had a great idea to go to not a haunted house, but a haunted escape room in Flushing. Everyone was skeptical at first because it was not only expensive but there was a five star rated scary level on the one we wanted to do (it was the only one that had English). Most of the other themes were all in Chinese so we needed someone who could read Chinese to carry us. The website was also very creepy to say the least. I had never been to a haunted escape room before and I didn’t even know what was going through my head when I decided that it was a good idea to go. You could say curiosity killed the cat. This was one of those times where I should have stayed curious because I regret everything.

To begin, it was a bright and hot summer day. We struggled to find the place but we eventually found it after suffering in the heat. Everything was fine at first. We checked in, put our stuff in the locker and we were all set to start. In regular escape rooms, you get put in the room and listen to the story, then you start to solve. Well, a haunted escape room is a very different experience. The hosts made us wear a blindfold so we could not see where we were going. After they guided us to our designated room, we listened to the story and then started. Did I forget to mention that it is considered a haunted escape room not only because it has a horror theme but it also has npc activity, so we had to run? This was when things started to go south. I won’t get into too much detail on what the storyline of the escape room was but just know at some point there is a ghost that will chase you.

We were doing the escape room and it was all good at first. We were all together, but as we got through further stages the group had to split. Originally it was supposed to be two people left behind, but of course I was too scared to go on the adventure with others and stayed behind. BIG MISTAKE. This was my karma for staying while the others were off to another room. Right after the group split off into another room, there was a wall that cut us off, so we could not reunite with each other. I had two of my other friends with me but when the people you are with are already scared — and I was also scared — it is not a good combination. We stayed in a corner for a good 20 mins because we were that scared. But, we had to do our part so the other group could do theirs. Now as we were relaying messages to the other side, there was a hole in the corner of the wall and we all predicted that the ghost would crawl out from there. We were right. As we continued talking to each other, the npc popped through the hole and I booked it. But because there was a wall that separated us there was nowhere to run and I had to go back into the room to see the npc grabbing onto my friend's foot.

There was a separate room that we ran into because we were supposed to go there for our mission, but at that point, it was my breaking point. When I say I cried, I was straight crying to get out. I have never been so traumatized in my life. We did not end up escaping but 
 till next time am I right? (I ended up going back a second time for a different theme.)


Kimberly Cheong

Publicity Chair





Comments


bottom of page